Keyword Search
Cross Search
National Archives of JAPAN

Font size

Standard Large


Japanese English


Map of Meiji Tokyo

Whole area of Tokyo Prefecture was divided into 6 large districts and 97 small districts in the 4th year of Meiji (1871). After having been incorporated from neighboring areas, 11 large districts and 103 small districts were established. The "Meiji Tokyo Map" published in the 9th year of Meiji (1876) shows the features of Tokyo of the period where the large and small districts were established.

Meiji Tokyo zenzu (Map of Meiji Tokyo)

Original sizes: 162 cm from east to west and 214 cm from north to south.